Personal tools
You are here: Home Members carl Carl's Blog Archive 2009 October 28 Professional sprint world champions
Document Actions

Professional sprint world champions

by Carl Brewer last modified 2009-10-28 17:40
Filed Under:

There's been quite a few Aussies win this

I was trolling the 'net for some trivia on sprinting ..

World professional sprint champions from Australia :

1920, Antwerp, Bob Spears (Bob was also runner up in '21 & '22)

1970, Leicester, Gordon Johnson

1975, Rocourt, John Nicholson

1976, Monteroni di Lecce, John Nicholson

1988, Ghent, Stephen Pate

1993, Hamar, Gary Neiwand

1995, Bogota, Darryn Hill

2002, Ballerup, Sean Eadie


For the women, no Australian women have won the world sprint championship (yet), Anna Meares was runner up in 2004 at the Melbourne world titles.

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: